Visiting Belgium next month

Luxembourg, Belgium, The Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Slovenia

Visiting Belgium next month

Postby Nathan Smith » Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:24 pm

Hello, I and my family will be visiting Belgium in July. I'm a biologist with the United States Geological Survey in San Diego California. I've been published in the Southwestern naturalist for the work we did in the El Monte Valley (http://www.bioone.org/doi/abs/10.1894/0 ... 9-61.4.294). I am working on my master's thesis at San Diego State University in Rulon Clark's lab. My family and I would love to see some of the native European herpetofauna while visiting. Any advice would be welcomed regarding where to see vipers or any other snakes. If anyone is able to show us around I would be happy to oblige them in a personal tour of southern California if they are ever able to visit my home town. Thanks in advance for any help. -Nathan Smith
Nathan Smith

Hometown: San Diego

Re: Visiting Belgium next month

Postby Jeroen Speybroeck » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:45 pm

July is not the best of months to herp around here, although it is highly weather dependent. Snake sites are also highly limited - certainly a big difference compared to SoCal. Sharing these sites is done with great caution. I won't be around during much of July, but if you want to see some of the more common amphibians and you're willing to get to Ghent, we might be able to arrange something. But again, in comparison with Socal, Belgium is a very poor place herpwise.
Jeroen Speybroeck
Site Admin

Hometown: Merelbeke

Postby Nathan Smith » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:14 am

Thanks for the reply Jeroen! I'm aware that Belgium is far more sparse in herp richness compared to southern California, but being that this is my first time, I would love to see ANYthing. What types of amphibians would you expect to find in Ghent?
Nathan Smith